erebus motorsport V8
erebus motorsport GT
erebus academy

About The Team

Erebus Motorsport has joined forces with the long serving and highly regarded Championship winning team Stone Brothers Racing.  In 2013 the Erebus Motorsport V8 team will bring a new approach to V8 Supercars racing and, through its Customer Sports Programme, a new brand of manufacturer to the grid.

Erebus Motorsport V8 is the home of the #4, #9 and #47 Mercedes-Benz E63 AMG V8 Supercars.


Formed in 1998 Stone Brothers Racing has done it all in V8 Supercars racing.  The team won the V8 Supercars Championship in 2003 and 2004 with Marcos Ambrose and scored a third successive crown in 2005 when Russell Ingall broke through for his first Championship win.


In 1998, in its inaugural season, Stone Brothers Racing (SBR) recorded a memorable win in the ‘Great Race’, the Bathurst 1000, with the Pirtek Falcon driven by Jason Bright and Steven Richards. Ford Falcons have only tasted victory four times at the Mount Panorama circuit in the V8 Supercars era – 1998 – with SBR and in 2006, 2007 and 2008 with cars powered by SBR Engines.

In 2003, with the highly publicised signing of ex-Holden driver Russell Ingall, SBR’s on track performance included eight wins from 13 rounds and saw Marcos Ambrose crowned V8 Supercars Champion. SBR also won the 2003 V8 Supercars Development Series with Mark Winterbottom. Mark finished on the podium in six of six rounds including four round wins and five pole positions.

A 1st and 2nd finish in the 2004 Championship Series included six round wins as well as a 1st and 2nd finish at the Sandown 500 endurance round.

The 2005 V8 Supercars Championship Series belonged to Russell Ingall. A round win at Oran Park and consistent podium finishes saw him placed at the top of the table at the close of the Bigpond Grand Finale at Phillip Island giving him his first V8 Supercar title. The SBR team again took out the V8 Supercars Championship team honours in 2005, providing just rewards for the hard-working crew.

SBR entered a new phase in 2006 after Marcos Ambrose announced that he would leave V8 Supercars to try his hand at NASCAR in America opening the door for James Courtney to join the team. Among the highlights of 2006 SBR finish 3rd and 4th at the Bathurst 1000, the race between team-mates coming down to the line, Courtney edging out Ingall for the podium by 0.005 of a second. James Courtney was named the Mike Cable Rookie of the Year.

In 2007, Stone Brothers Racing entered its 10th year on track, with Russell Ingall and James Courtney again competing for the V8 Supercar Championship. SBR expanded its racing operations to contest the Fujitsu V8 Supercar Development Series with young driver Jonathon Webb.

Continuing their deliberate, seemingly uncanny, strategy to discover emerging, young drivers with natural ability and develop them into accomplished professionals within the sport, SBR promoted rookie, Shane van Gisbergen, to drive the #9 SP Tools Racing car in 2008.

2009 saw Stone Brothers Racing welcome into their ranks highly experienced international Porsche factory driver, Alex Davison. He joined Shane Van Gisbergen in the V8 Supercars main game. The team were also charged with the preparation of Jason Bright’s Britek Racing entry.

Tim Slade joined the team in 2010, jumping behind the wheel of the new SBR-prepared V8 Supercars entry with support from Wilson Security. Slade joined team members Alex Davison and Shane Van Gisbergen as part of the three car SBR assault on the 2010 V8 Supercars season.

2011 was the season that saw Stone Brothers Racing channel its past glories and strike back into winning form. Remaining with the same driving line-up of Alex Davison, Shane Van Gisbergen and Tim Slade, it afforded the team stability. SBR also welcomed emerging national convenience store chain, Lucky 7 as Title Sponsor on the Slade #47.

2012 marked the end of an era for not only V8 Supercars but also for Stone Brothers Racing.  With the introduction of Car of the Future scheduled for 2013, SBR and Erebus Motorsport joined forces to create the Erebus Motorsport V8 team.